JOIN
A freelance directory price increase is coming. You can still advertise your freelance writing services for a one-time fee of $14.95 through Sunday, July 23rd.
Get your profile today.

Hello from Virginia!

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  mrswrite March 15, 2017 at 12:36 am.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Alexandra Costello
    Alexandra Costello
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I’m Alex, and I’m excited to be here. I’ve been a fiction writer for years, and I’m currently working on a couple of novels. I’m also trying to get into freelance writing – I’m trying to pay for college – but I’m only just getting started and I’m sure I’ll be asking lots of questions about that! I don’t have a niche yet, or a website. So I’m definitely new to freelancing, and I’ll be looking forward to any advice that veterans might have for me.

Nice to meet you all!

Jennifer Mattern
    Keymaster

Hi Alex. Welcome to the community. 🙂

If you let us know what you’d like to start with as far as your freelancing career, I’d be happy to point you in the right direction. 🙂 What’s your priority right now — choosing a niche, getting a site up, figuring out rates, getting samples, etc.?

Jennifer Mattern - Professional Blogger, Freelance Business Writer, Author

Owns AllFreelanceWriting.com | Also blogs at: NakedPR.com & BizAmmo.com

Alexandra Costello
    Alexandra Costello
    Participant

Thanks for the welcome!

Right now my priority would be choosing a niche, though any advice in any of the areas you mentioned would be helpful! Finding a niche, though, has been difficult for me, as I don’t even know how to begin finding one! I also would love advice on getting samples. 🙂

Jennifer Mattern
    Keymaster

Well, let’s start with your niche and see if we can help you narrow down some options. Then we can look at how you might be able to build a portfolio in that niche: